The study of marine biology is an applied science that links various disciplines of marine sciences and therefore the Department of Marine Biology is one of the important pillars in the faculty of Marine Sciences.

 It was established in 1395 AH (1975) as a Marine Science Department in the Faculty of Science led by Prof.  Anwar Abdualeem, who was a successor of  Prof. Abdulkader Bohari. The program was limited to the teaching of marine biology for bachelor’s course. The Marine Science department developed into Marine Biology Department in the year 1398 AH (1978) chaired by Prof. Abdulrhman Kholi. Currently the Department of Marine Biology scientific staff consists of 18 Ph.D. members, 2 lecturers and several technicians, each one with distinct specialization in the field of marine biology, marine plant, marine environment, coral reefs, animal behavior, aquaculture, marine pollution and other disciplines.  The  Department offers bachelor's and master's degree courses and it is equipped with a number of support units to facilitate the scientific study and research, such as fish farm, museum, in addition to the 6 laboratories equipped with modern equipments at Marine Science Faculty  branch in Abhour.

The department plays an active role in the rehabilitation of national competencies that serve various sectors of the state. It also contributes in terms of research, conducted either by itself or in cooperation with other departments within the university or outside.

Last Update
7/26/2011 9:28:02 AM